- South East Dublin Department of Anaesthesia

News Archive 2009


Difficult Airways Workshop December 2009




Hard working NCHD's enjoy departmental X-mas night out 2009

NANS Las Vegas

Dr Tolu Alugo

3rd - 6th December 2009
Presentation of paper by the Department of Pain Medicine
Spinal Cord Stimulation in the Management of 'Post Traumatic Cervical Syringomyelia'
by Dr. Tolu Alugo, Pain Fellow, Dr. Daniel Kirubakaran and Dr. Paul Murphy. 

The Action Plan for Health Research 2009-2013

Venue: Royal College Physicians in Ireland, 4th Novembe 2009.

Launched by Mary Harney TD, Minister for Health & Chrildren.
The outlining of the Action Plan for Health Research 2009-13 and the HRB strategic business plan 2010-2014.

Dr Tony Healy, St.Vincents University Hospital, Prof George Shorten, Dept of Anaesthesia, Cork University Hospital. & Mr Enda Connolly, CEO, Health Research Board.

Workshop - Local Anaesthesia for Ophthalmic Surgery - 19th September 2009

Course Directors:
Dr. Deirdre McCoy, Prof. Clive Lee, Dr. John McAdoo, Dr. Bill Blunnie, Dr. Dermot Kelly, Dr. Muhammad Mukhtar

A workshop for anaesthetists and ophthalmologists comprising lectures and live demonstration of local anaesthetic blocks.

Download timetable here

Overseas Education Updates

Visit to Ndola Zambia: Dr. Tony Healy

A visitation by Dr. Tony Healy to Ndola, Zambia took place in July 2009.
He attended Ndola General Hospital, WHO Tropical Research Centre, the Irish Aid supported College of BioMedical Sciences, the hospice  homes of Cicetekelo and St. Therese’s Village. The latter organisations offer their services to those left destitute as a consequence of HIV/Aids.

Having prior Flying Doctor experience in Souix Lookout, Ontario and the Canadian Offshore Medical Services, Newfoundland he met with the Medical Director of the Zambian Flying Doctor Services to discuss development issues.

Zambia Flying Doctor Service


Entrance of Ndola Central Hospital


Dr. Tony Healy in OR


Dr. Healy with Irish Trained Staff of College of BioMedical Sciences



Ward Round in Cicetekelo Hospice Home, Ndola


The Grounds of St. Therese’s Village, Ndola

Visit to Tanzania : Dr. Niamh Conlon

Dr. Niamh Conlon undertook a visitation to her friend in July 2009 to Dr. Trich Scanlon, Paediatric Oncologist in Ocean Road Cancer Hospital, Dar es Salaam

Ocean Road Cancer Hospital, Dar es Salaam

Another busy day on the wards


A grateful patient - Makes it worthwhile

NewOrleans, ASA Meeting

Dr. Breslin was invited to give a talk at the Pre-ASA Symposium October 2009 entitled;
"Ultrasound for every Anesthesiologist"

Anaesthesia Conference, Moldova 

Dr. Dara Breslin and Dr. Crina  Burlacu were Faculty Members at the 2nd International Congress of the Society Anesthesiology Reanimatology of the Republic of Moldova, 27 – 30 August 2009. Dr. Dara Breslin led a Workshop on Ultrasound Guided Regional Blocks, while Dr. Crina  Burlacu presented a paper on Regional Anaesthesia in Thoracic Trauma. She also chaired a Workshop on Management of Pain for Trauma.

Dr Dara Breslin, Dr Crina Burlacu - Faculty Night Out

Dr Dara Breslin - our wine connoiseur

Seeing the sights - Dr G Ioham, Dr C Burlacu


Dr. Dara Breslin, Dr. Crina Burlacu, Prof. Anthony Cunningham, & Dr. Gabriella Iohom

Conquering Mount Everest

Roger McMorrow, newly appointed consultant anaesthetist, was a member of the summit team on the 2007 Caudwell Xtreme Everest Expedition. See for further details

Cho Oyu from Camp 3 on Everest

Cho Oyu from Camp 3 on Everest


Crashed Helicopter at Namche Lodge

Crashed Helicopter at Namche Lodge


Dawa Tenji Sherpa

Dawa Tenji Sherpa was my Sherpa for the summit bid


Everest from Camp 4

Everest from Camp 4


Our Sherpas

Our Sherpas


Roger and Family at summit

Roger and Family at summit

Medal Winners 2008

Gold Medal 2008

Presentation of the  Gold Medal Award  for Best SpR in Pain Medicine

Dr Declan O'Keeffe (Director Pain Medicine), Dr David Sommerfield, Dr Paul Murphy (Consultant Anaesthetist)


Pain Management Team 2008/09

St Vincent's University  Hospital  Pain Management Team 2008-09
Back Row L-R: Deirdre Harney, Tony Kalathil Jose, Jenni Cross, Deirdre McNally, Aoife Caffrey
Front Row L-R: Dr Daniel Kirubakaran, Dr Declan O'Keeffe, Dr David Sommerfield, Dr Paul Murphy

Presentation of gold medals by Dr. Tom Owens, Chairman of the Department of Anaesthesia, Intensive Care and Pain Medicine






Dr Tom Owens presents the Dr. Seamus O'Donnell memorial award for best SpR in ICU to Dr. Stephen Frohlich

Dr Tom Owens presents the Dr. Gerry Dorian memorial award for best SpR in Anaesthesia to Dr Enda Connolly

In Abstenia: Dr. Dick Nolan memorial award for best BST trainee went to Dr. Gavin Weekes